Appendix 3 Types of corporations holding land interests

Land corporation/association/trust	Legislation	Aim	
Jurisdiction: Commonwealth			
Indigenous corporation, 'Prescribed Body Corporate (PBC)' as agent or trustee for common law native title holders	Native Title Act 1993 and Native Title (Prescribed Bodies Corporate) Regulations 1999	To recognise and protect native title, set up a process to determine claims for native title. Applies throughout Australia.	
Aboriginal Land Trusts - consisting of Aboriginal people resident in the regional Land Council area	Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976	Granting of title for traditional Aboriginal owners in the Northern Territory only.	
Wreck Bay Aboriginal Community Council: ss4, 6(a)	Aboriginal Land Grant (Jervis Bay Territory) Act 1986	To grant land to the Wreck Bay Aboriginal community at Jervis Bay in the ACT.	
Kerrup-Jmara Elders Aboriginal Corporation at Lake Condah. Kirrae Whurrong Aboriginal Corporation at Framlingham Forest	Aboriginal Land (Lake Condah and Framlingham Forest) Act 1987	To provide for vesting of land for certain Aboriginal communities in Victoria by the Commonwealth at the request of the Victorian Government.	



Land corporation/association/trust	Legislation	Aim		
Jurisdiction: New South Wales				
Local Aboriginal Land Councils (LALC) o the New South Wales Aboriginal Land Council (NSWALC) can acquire, hold and deal with land	1983	To acknowledge the importance of land to Aborigines and its spiritual, social, cultural and economic significance and provide a process to return land.		
NSWALC or LALC as per <i>Aboriginal Land</i> <i>Rights Act 1983</i> (NSW) – see above	National Parks and Wildlife Act 1974	Provides for the ownership of approved areas that are national parks, nature reserves, a historic site, or state conservation area, regional park, karst conservation reserve or Aboriginal areas that are of 'cultural significance' to Aboriginal people: s71D, 71Y. The particular areas are in Schedule 14 of the Act.		
Jurisdiction: Northern Territory				
The landmark Indigenous land rights legislation in Australia, the <i>Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act 1976</i> (Cth) applies to the Northern Territory, but is listed in the Commonwealth jurisdiction (above) because it is a federal Act.				
Aboriginal Association representing the community	Pastoral Land Act 1992	To provide land title for Aboriginal communities (a living area) on pastoral lease land based on historical association and present need: s92(1).		
Jurisdiction: South Australia				
State-wide Aboriginal Land Trust — Aboriginal persons appointed by government including Minister's representative	Aboriginal Lands Trust Act 1966	To grant land (previously set aside as Aboriginal reserves) directly to the control of an Aboriginal body.		

Land corporation/association/trust	Legislation	Aim
Anangu Pitjantjatjara (AP) — a body corporate comprising all the traditional owners in the area	Pitjantjatjara Land Rights Act 1981	To provide ownership directly to the Traditional Owners.
Maralinga Tjarutja (MT) — a body corporate comprising all the traditional owners in the area	Maralinga Tjarutja Land Rights Act 1984	To provide ownership directly to the traditional owners.
Jurisdiction: Queensland		
Trustees appointed by the Minister: ss28, 65 and Part 3 Aboriginal Land Regulation 1991 (Qld)	Aboriginal Land Act 1991	To provide for the claim and grant of, land to Aboriginal people and foster self-development, self-reliance and cultural integrity.
As above. Similar provisions to <i>Aboriginal Land Act 1991</i> (Qld) apply	Torres Strait Islander Land Act 1991	As above. Similar provisions to <i>Aboriginal</i> <i>Land Act 1991</i> (Qld) apply.
Community Councils and later trustees of Aboriginal land under <i>Aboriginal</i> <i>Land Act.</i>	Aborigines and Torres Strait Islanders (Land Holding) Act 1985	To provide secure title (individual leases) to Indigenous community members on communal Iand.
Community Councils as trustee	Land Act 1994	Create public reserves including for Indigenous people (Schedule 1 Community Purposes).
Jurisdiction: Victoria		
Aboriginal Trust consisting of residents only	Aboriginal Lands Act 1970	To make permanent the land grant and vest the land in the local resident community. Applies to Lake Tyers and Framlingham Aboriginal communities only.
Aborigines Advancement League Inc	Aboriginal Lands (Aborigines' Advancement League) (Watt Street) Northcote) Act 1982	Vest the Crown grant of land in the trustees of the Advancement League.



3	0	6



Land corporation/association/trust	Legislation	Aim
Aborigines Advancement League Inc.	Aboriginal Land (Northcote Land) Act 1989	Permanently vest block of land for Aboriginal community purposes.
Wurundjeri Tribe Land and Compensation Cultural Heritage Council Inc. Goolum Goolum Aboriginal Co- operative Ltd. Gippsland & East Gippsland Aboriginal Co-operative Ltd.	Aboriginal Lands Act 1991	Grant of specific blocks of land for cultural and burial purposes.
Murray Valley Aboriginal Co-operative Ltd	Aboriginal Land (Manatunga Land) Act 1992	Grant of land at Robinvale and to extinguish existing leases and other en- cumbrances: s1.
Jurisdiction: Tasmania		
Aboriginal Land Council — state-wide elected Aboriginal body corporate	Aboriginal Lands Act 1995	To promote reconciliation by granting certain parcels of land of historic or cultural significance.
Jurisdiction: Western Australia		
Crown through Aboriginal Land Trust (ALT) appointed by Minister or Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority	Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972	For the economic, social and cultural advancement of persons of Aboriginal descent in Western Australia.
Aboriginal person or approved Aboriginal Corporation: s83 Aboriginal reserves generally vested in ALT see <i>Aboriginal Affairs Planning</i> <i>Authority Act 1972</i> above; or resident Aboriginal Corporation.	Land Administration Act 1997	To provide Crown land for benefit of Aboriginal persons.