Acknowledgements

Special thanks to Paul Oliver for all his work on compiling, writing and producing the report.

Thanks to Lisa Thompson for researching and writing the baseline data and literature review, and for designing and desktopping the report. Also thanks to James Iliffe for writing the federal and state government section and for editing the entire report.

Thanks to HREOC Executive Director Diana Temby, Margaret Donaldson and the team at the race discrimination unit, Jan Payne from the Public Affairs Unit, and Mark Joel for assistance researching relevant articles.

Many thanks to Adrian Burn and Malgorzata Anczewska (Department of Immigration and Citizenship), Brett Espeland, Debbie Simms, Paul Donohue, Carl Currey, Melinda Turner and Fatima Kourouche (Australian Sports Commission) and Greg Blood (ASC National Sport Information Library). Thanks to Mary Duncan (Play by the Rules) for arranging several meetings, and the members of the Play by the Rules Management Committee for promoting the report to their contacts.

Appreciation to contacts from each state and territory department of sport and recreation and equal opportunity/anti discrimination commissions, including: Katrina Aird (Office of the Anti-Discrimination Commissioner Tasmania), Kate Mirowski (Sport and Recreation TAS), Anthony Bowd (VicSport), Peter Gourlay, Merryn Bellamy and Kavitha Chandra-Shekeron (Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights VIC), Bruce Drake, David Rees and Jeanette Webb (NSW Department of Tourism, Sport & Recreation), Michael Jerabek (Anti-Discrimination Board NSW), Kate McCormack (Anti-Discrimination Commission of QLD), Paul Knight (Sport & Recreation QLD), Sue Rhodes (NT Anti-Discrimination Board), Annette Duncan (NT Department of Sport and Recreation), Janet Skewes (SA Equal Opportunity Commission), Richard Mellon and Laura Perdue (Office of Recreation and Sport SA), Jenny Earle (ACT Human Rights Commission), Brett Maron (Sport and Recreation ACT), Marc Newhouse (Equal Opportunity Commission of WA) and Grant Trew (WA Department of Sport and Recreation).

The report would not have been possible without the input from the various national and state sporting organisations. Special thanks to: Cheryl Bollard (Australian Wrestling Union Inc), Jarrod Greedy and Michael Haynes (Basketball Australia), Tom Skulander (Cycling Australia), Matthew Bulkeley (Football Federation Australia), Grant Birse (Netball Australia), Geoff Shaw and Greg Denny (Australian Rugby Union), Matthew Francis (National Rugby League) and Steve Palin (Australian Rugby League), Chris Giles and Lee Howell (Surf Life Saving Australia), Andrew Hamilton (Triathlon Australia), Sally McGrady (Athletics Australia), Nick Hatzoglou (Australian Football League), Ted Tanner (Boxing Australia Inc), Peter Young, Tiffany Harman, Neil Dalrymple and Michael McGregor (Cricket Australia), Brendan Denning (Hockey Australia), DiAnne Lilburn (Softball Australia), Mark McAllion (Tennis Australia) and Touch Football Australia.

Thanks also to the following people for their time in meeting and sharing ideas and information: Russell Ebert (Port Adelaide Football Club), Yvonne Soper (National Rugby Union Players'

Association), Keith Wise (Football Federation Victoria), John Lupio (Western Districts Torros Soccer Club), Ellie Pietsch (Sandridge Life Saving Club), Danny O'Brien (Basketball SA), Dr Mary Jones (The Replay Group), Assunta Morrone (Centre for Multicultural Youth Issues), Graeme Orr (Griffith University), Luke McNamara (University of Wollongong), Ian Warren (formerly Victoria University), Toni Buti (Murdoch University) and Laksiri Jayasuriya (University of WA).